The Church of England

The Church of England is the state church of England. This means that Christianity is the official religion of England and The Church of England supports the government and is supported by the government.

There are around 16,000 Anglican (Church of England) churches in England. These local parish churches are organised into geographical areas called Dioceses. The Church of England – Birmingham is one of the 42 Dioceses of England.

There are 78 million Anglicans worldwide, so we are just a small part of a global family of Christians. Each Anglican parish church across the world will be different, but will hold the same core beliefs.



The Queen is the Supreme Governor of The Church of England and the Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby, is the senior bishop and principal leader. 

To see more about Who's Who in The Church of England, see the Leadership and Governance page